gwensarah and johanny
and one year ago my mountain burned
02:06 & 24 October 2004

ahhhh, super fast internet, CD burning and smokes..niiiiiiceeeee.


So, i'm going to post the compilations i just finished making my sister for her birthday as well the reasons behind the songs, cause I'm lame like that. If this bores you..simply scroll down for the entry of Rymer's teacher conference and other ramblings. Or read something else..your choice heh.

Because every good song deserves a reason.....


Vol 1.

TBS: Times you've come.. Actually there really isn't a reason behind this one, it's just a Jackson Browne song I like..plus, Peel Sessions are keen :)
Deftones: The Chauffeur...this song makes me want sex. seriously. Deftones covering this just makes it hot. Hmmm...
Frank and Walters: Little Dolls...From the first time I heard this it reminded me of us. During the Moon Days..During the Damon Days..and someone should have "come on by and reminded us that we can be princesses"
Geneva: If you have to go...I love this song. Lurrve it.
Morrissey: I'll never learn. well duhhh.
TBS: Open Skies. reason censored heh
Craig Armstrong/Evan Dando: Wake up in New York. Ohhhhh this song...it breaks my heart. the first time I heard it, I just wanted to write something amazing about meeting in New York at the drugstore on 1st Avenue.
Maximillian Hecker: Over. You've been on the 330 up the mountain, now imagine it a summer night with stars blazing, driving at 75 miles an hour. High. Yup, this song sums up the summer before I moved here, driving to Jayson's.
A-ha: Lifeline. Me and Aaron. No fecking kidding.
Stratford 4: 12 months. It just makes me laugh, no deeper reason.
Geneva: Worry Beads..either Geneva has two singers or this guy can sing really really high. But it's a lovely song. Made for rainy days and snow showers
Longpigs: In the Snow. Ummm...famous driving song last winter. you know, in the snow.
Camera Obscura: 80's Fan..reminds me of you, reminds William, Martin and Spike of me. Go figure.
Stars: Aspidistra Files. i'm playing this at my reception. Just listen to the words.
Marine Time Keepers: Soon comes a tear..more winter driving.
Picture Center: LP2..Best fecking song ever..the lyrics "all those lovers unrequited visit while you sleep, somewhere out of reach" brilliant.
Electronic: Blue Another obscure wonder
Azure Ray: displaced...there's a verse that is Mandy and I and Jamie and you.
Azure Ray: 4th of July. An Aaron song


Vol 2.

cody: august song
cody: Stickleback...both of these remind me of when M. was here. The magical week in November 2001 and it's aftermath, walking on rain drenched streets..knowing I was finally free of the Ghosts of Relationships Past.
Tompot Blenny...see above.
Monograph: Our sometime star & Long Stretch. undefinable longing in late 2001
Smiths..how soon is now, reel around the fountain, back to the old house. Everything that is our late teen years.
Sweetest Ache: Tell me how it feels & If I can shine...soundtracks to the D. years.
Travis: Re-offender & Love will come through. Road trip to Georgia last year. Half-asleep, fresh off the surrealism that was the October Wildfires. Rymer's favourite is Re-offender..he likes to sing "you say you loooooove meeeeee..then you DO IT AGAIN." Like he knows what it means, heh.
Strokes: Reptilia, Automatic Stop, Under Control...more Road Trip to Georgia songs.
Go- Betweens: cattle and cane..somewhere in my parallel life, there is a memory to this.
Field Mice: If you need someone. bobby played this live for me once, despite his "I'm never playing FM songs during a TBS set, so quit asking"...it's my song to Rymer and someday, hopefully..someone's song to me as it once was D and mine.
Suede: Lost in T.V...I just like this one.
Placebo: Teenage Angst..because everyone needs a little Placebo to wrap up a compilation.


Vol 3.

Pulp: Mile End..Nana's house heh.
Placebo: Peeping Tom. My favourite Placebo song. Tied to memories of when I first met Jayson.
Peter Gabriel: Mercy Street..I love this song.
Pogues: Fairy Tale of New York..I was 12 when I first heard this and the lyrics about him putting her dreams with his own made me long for something my 12 year old mind could not define.
Radiohead: Fake Plastic Trees & Let Down...Oceanside 1997.
Rialto: Monday Morning (5:19)..for all those who have sat up wondering where the hell someone is.
Slowdive: Some Velvet Morning...hard to believe Neil Halsted went from this to "high hopes"
Joy Division: these days & everything's gone green...ahhh, the days of Rob McCray, the Red Sled and my Ian Curtis Angst.
Radio Free America: The Chauffeur..another cover of a great song.
Sisters of Mercy: Some kind of stranger..see Joy Division reason
Nick Cave: we came along this road...the most depressing song ever. great for rainy days.
Mojave3: Love songs on the radio...makes me want to take a road trip
New Order: turn the heater on..Peel Session classic
Snow Patrol: Run...ohhh this song. how to explain it..I dream of ground zero quite often and this song is always playing in my head.


Vol 4:

Joy Division: Love will tear us apart...timeless classic
Momus: I want you but don't need you..this song got me busted at work, turns out some of the lyrics are quite too naughty for workplace consumption.
Placebo: Boy w/ a thorn in his side..old song, new twist.
Pogues: Lorelai..A road trip w/ D. song
Current 93: When the May Rain Comes..I still think the kid drowned..like in IT.
Death Cab for Cutie: Movie Script Ending..this song breaks my heart and it's not even that sad.
Le Tigre: Get off the internet..heh
Morrissey/Siouxsie..the best duet ever
Neil Halsted: Dreamed I saw soldiers & High hopes...the first because I love it the second because of the words
Moby: New Dawn Fades..I love Moby and I love this song. Period.
Placebo: Peeping Tom (live), Pure Morning, English Summer Rain, This Picture...more lovely Placebo
Placebo: Centrefolds..My feelings for Jayson are complicated..it's not like I'm in love with him in the traditional sense (or anything resembling it)..but there's some strange connection there..this song brings those feelings and bonds to mind.
Rasputina: Dig Ophelia..my favourite Rasputina song
Spiritualized: Ladies and Gentlemen, we are floating in space..oh damn this song..this is E trips, this song is longing for B. it's missing D. it's nights huddled under blankets whispering over scratchy vinyl, overseas phone calls, it's the December Series..conversations with Aaron in the conversation alley..it's the 91 freeway listening to Beck with you. It's my epitath, my hope..next to Sigur Ros' "Track 6" it's the soundstrack to my soul.


OK..now to your regularly scheduled programming..


Rymer's conference..no surprises really..alot of "he's a joy to have but he sure can talk" heh, no shite.


I've been at Chris' since 11 and all I've done is hog his computer..well what else am I supposed to do? welll...yes, there is that.


I was going to write some sort of novel using the December Series..but then I shared it with someone who knows virtually nothing about that time, it wasn't as if I got a dampering opinion on the stuff, only that it left me with a strange taste in my mouth after. In some ways, there is a part of my soul that is frozen in time. Why that time and not say three years ago? My world came down with those buildings and yet..it's further back that replays like an old photograph.


I can't put into words what I mean..but somehow I think that to most of you, no explanations are necessary...


So what now? It's easy to write of the profound greatness that was Brownies, the Apple Orchard, Emma's House in snow flurries..even easy to write of the delicate heartbreak that was the final days...even easy to write of searching through rubble and desolation for anything and everything that would make sense..but one day in June proves impossible...


I spoke of it a few days ago..to someone I barely knew. Why? Because there was something that told me she'd not only not judge but understand. Yet, putting it to paper. Damn, I just don't know...


Yet, it's a big chapter to the story of my life.

previous & next