gwensarah and johanny
September 6
09:42 & 02 July 2003

We had sped down the freeway throwing angry words like daggers aimed to the heart. Wanting the maim each other with hurt. By the time we approached the offramp we had settled into stormy silence and I gazed out the window trying desperately not to either cry or let loose the torrent of things I both wanted to say and knew I should not.

He brought the car to a screeching halt on the vacant street near the old movie theater and gathered a breath to speak.

"Don't", I whispered, "just don't".

"Gwen, look at me." he said and still I remained silent and unbending. I would not look at him, I could not look at him for fear of what I would see mirrored in his eyes.

Had it come to this then? Had all the wanting, the loving, the yearning, the sense of triumph all led to this heartwrenching confusion? I looked around the empty streets helplessly as if there would be an answer in the skies.

"Gwenny please." His voice broke with desperation, "look at me."

I did then, and my heart almost broke with it.

This was not indifference, this was not an ending, this was sorrow etched on every feature and his eyes were burning pools of regret.

Words failing him, he cupped my face in his hands and gently placed his mouth to mine. Every thing we were, everything we could be, every hope, every fear fused into that single kiss.

Clinging to each other as if we were drowning, there was nothing except that moment.

With that kiss we sealed our fates and there was no going back the how things were for good or ill.

Brown eyes met green and the world ended with the shattering of a thousand suns.

previous & next